SILAY: SHORT WALK

I went to great lengths to see Vigan, Ilocos Sur and Taal, Batangas because they have preserved their own historical architecture, and with heritage awareness.  But of they’re not the only heritage town in the Philippines and Silay is among that list.   Silay City is about 15 minutes from Bacolod City by private car and around 30-45 minutes by commute.  But if you’re from somewhere that requires a plane ride to get to Bacolod or any point of Negros Occidental, Silay is the first city you’ll get to… the (not so) new airport city… the gateway to the province of Negros Occidental.

It is a pretty town with a big plaza in front of a beautiful church.  Going around the town, one will find heritage buildings and ancestral homes, some have been converted in museums.  It’s usually one of those stops we take visiting friends for the sights and most especially the food.

I’ve been working in Silay for around ten months now and its a shame I haven’t taken the time to familiarize myself with this place.  Every now and then, I take along my camera to work but rarely do I get the chance take short walks.

