UAAP SEASON 76: ADAMSON V UP

Got lucky to get tickets for January 19, 2014 UAAP season 76 volleyball game.  I kept bugging my friends to go to San Juan Arena early because I wanted to shoot before the game started.  Not that I had any idea what went on before the game.  What I knew is it’s always good to be early to be able to scout the place.  Luckily my friends obliged.  There was a long queue outside San Juan Arena since DLSU Lady Spikers and the Ateneo Lady Eagles were playing on the second game.  Hence, the long line of Ateneo and La Salle fans, though I think there were more fans in green.

My last shoot of a volleyball match was disastrous… so I made it a point to watch a few games on TV and researched some photos taken by sports photographers.  I was quite lucky too that a sports photographer who covered UAAP games answered my queries in IG.

djbiancafrostUse the ‘S’ setting, the faster u want to get an action shot use 1/320 or 1/640 i use the 640 indoor bcoz of d dark lights(not enough). If u have flash (xternal) u use low. Photoshoot outdoors need only low light 1/120 or 1/240

djbiancafrostDont use auto setting as it will blur any action shots. Its only good for some henny penny moments. U can use the basic manual if u want. But most importantly being a photographer, make sure u knew basic editing process (photoshop). Most pictures arent really that good. Only when it is post-processed.@bacolodwalks

First match was Adamson vs. UP.  I’ve seen several of Adamson matches on TV.  They were quite an exciting team because despite being small compared to other teams, they always put a good fight and challenge the bigger and more popular teams.  They had very high flyers in Pineda, Villanueva and Zapanta.  The rest of the Lady Falcons, I don’t remember so well.  I recognized Pau Soriano, a former Lady Falcon, with the coaching staff of Adamson.

When we arrived, the Fighting Lady Maroons were already warming up and stretching on the court.  I had no idea who played for this team… but I’ve always been a UP fan.  I just love to root for the underdog! Their players were very young… mostly rookies and sophomores.

For Season 76, it’s hard to miss Pineda when watching any of her games on TV.  Despite her height she is a very explosive player that could really score.  But she is even an exciting player to watch live.  She can really fly and she makes it look so easy.

Adamson was too much for the young UP squad and took the game in straight sets.  Wished UP could have put up a better fight… but there’s always next year.

I was happy with the images I got.  It was a far cry from the the ones I took during the 2012 UNIGAMES.   My favorite photo for this match was actually not taken during the actual game but while the teams were warming up, which proves that it is always good to be early since there are more opportunities than just the actual game itself.

IMG_0431

my favorite photo of the game… Villanueva in meditation mode.

I like this photo because it’s clean, uncluttered and simple… almost zen-like.  It also doesn’t hurt that Amanda Villanueva of the Lady Falcons registers very well when photographed and you can hardly get a bad angle of her.

Crazy as it may sound, my friend who watched the game with me, exclaimed that the prettiest faces usually don #14.  I assume she was referring to volleyball players.  Crazier even… I now always look out for #14.

