BACOLOD: MY 2ND SCOTT KELBY WORLDWIDE PHOTOWALK

1277392_4738866524738_1824284309_o

group shot with fellow walkers at the steps of the Provincial Capitol

It was still dark when I my phone alarm went off.  It was a quarter to four in the morning.   Being the night person that I am, I wasn’t so sure how much sleep I had… or if I ever slept at all.  Tried to gather my senses while lying in the dark for the next fifteen minutes.  Before five o’clock I was out of the house and on my way to Mc Donald’s to meet-up with friends from our club, DPIS (Digital Photography Imaging Society) and our walk leader JoForts.  We then carpooled to our starting point.

The Scott Kelby Worlwide Walk is an social photography event where photographers get together to walk around, shoot photos, and generally have fun with other photographers.  It’s an annual event that is held simultaneously around the globe.  This is the second year I’m joining the walk.  Though there is a photo contest, I most look forward to the camaraderie shared with friends and new people I meet during the walk.  Last year, we walked from the southern part of Bacolod (Gaisano City Mall) to the Capitol Lagoon, the zero kilometer of the province of Negros Occidental.  This year, our starting point was Barangay Banago, Bacolod City.  It was near the old port area. 

Unlike last year where we shot in the commercial and downtown area of Bacolod… this year, Barangay Banago is in the port and coast area of city where there are numerous informal settlers.  The community is infamous for certain lawlessness… not the entire community but certain parts of it.  We were instructed by our walk leader to be extra careful and always stay in groups.  But more often, I found myself by my lonesome.

Here are some of the photos I took during the walk.

One thing is for sure, photowalks can make me wake-up really early in the morning and make me walk for quite a distance.  Crazy me… I’m looking forward to next year.

